Nunavik LHCs

Nunavik LHC of Aupaluk

Nunavik LHC of AupalukAupaluk, meaning "Where the Earth is Red" in Inuktitut, is an Inuit community in the territory of Northern Quebec.  The community is located on the shores of Hopes Advance Bay just off of Ungava Bay at approximately 59°19'1" N, 69°34'46" W.  As of 2006, the population of Aupaluk was 188.  Nunavik Landholding Corporation of Aupaluk is the owner of 629.8 km2 of Category I lands and has specific rights, responsibilities and controls over 4,039.7 km2 of Category II lands.

Read more

Aupaluk is the smallest community of Nunavik. It is located on the southern shore of Hopes Advance Bay, an inlet on the western shore of Ungava Bay. It is about 150 km north of Kuujjuaq and 80 km south of Kangirsuk. The village is built on the lowest of a series of natural terraces about 45 m above sea level. The surrounding landscape is rather flat and is ideal for hiking excursions. The village offers a superb view of Ungava Bay. Aupaluk owes its meaning to the reddish colour of its ferruginous soil. This soil constitutes the northern reaches of the Labrador Trough, which is rich in iron deposits.

Unlike the majority of Nunavik communities, Aupaluk did not develop around trading or mission posts. With its abundance of caribou, fish and marine mammals, it was a traditional camp. In 1975, Inuit from Kangirsuk and some other villages relocated to this area where several generations of hunters before them, their ancestors, had sojourned and built temporary camps.


The landholding corporations are legal entities created as non-profit associations under section
5 of the Land Regime Act, and governed by said Act, the JBNQA and the Quebec Companies

The membership of the landholding corporations is composed of the beneficiaries affiliated to
their respective communities. They are therefore ethnic bodies that serve community interests.

The internal structure of the landholding corporations is governed by By-laws duly adopted by
the members of the corporations. Thus, they can establish a Board of Directors composed of 3
to 12 members (according to the need of the communities) elected for a two (2) years term.
Among such directors, an executive committee is instituted with functions relevant to the
presidency, vice-presidency, secretarial and treasury of the organization.

The Board of directors has general administration powers, which include the power to hire staff
members, adopt by-laws, signing contracts, commit financially, etc., while bearing in mind their
general mandate, which is the pursuit of benefits for their respective communities.

Their principal duties and powers originate from the Land Regime Act and from the Act
respecting Hunting, Fishing and Trapping in the James Bay and Northern Quebec territories and
Chapter 3 of the JBNQA regarding eligibility of JBNQA beneficiaries. In addition, various
environmental laws allow landholding corporations to make representation to environmental
review boards created by the JBNQA.

They can be involved in profitable activities by incorporating subsidiary companies, even in
partnership with outside organizations, other landholding corporations or individuals.

Local landholding corporations are also responsible for the maintenance and updating of their
respective enrollment beneficiary list, among which amounts are proportionally allocated from

Board of Directors
Charlie Angotinguak
Jimmy Ningiuruvik
David Angutinguak (President)
Eva Grey (Vice-President)
Lizzie Annahatak Gordon (Secretary)
General Manager
NameMaggie Grey
Contact Information
Postal CodeJ0M 1X0
Subsidiary Companies

News and Events

Local Guidelines