Nunavik LHCs

Epigituk LHC of Killiniq

Epigituk LHC of KilliniqKilliniq, meaning "Ice Floes" in Inuktitut, was an Inuit community in the territory of Northern Quebec until 1978 when residents were moved from Killiniq to several other Nunavik communities.  The community was located on the shores of Ungava Bay at approximately 60°25'0" N, 64°50'0"W.  Epigituk Landholding Corporation of Killiniq is the owner of 290.5 km2 of Category I lands and has specific rights, responsibilities and controls over 3,903.7 km2 of Category II lands.

Read more

The community of Killiniq was a village located on an island of Nunavut very close from the main land of Nunavik. Because of its close links with Nunavik communities, the Inuit from Killiniq have been included as beneficiaries of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement and were allocated Category I and II lands.

The village of Killiniq was closed in 1979 and its population relocated in various communities in Nunavik, most particularly in Quaqtaq and Kangiqsualujjuaq. At the present time, the old residents of Killiniq are mainly regrouped in the village of Kangiqsualujjuaq. The Board of Directors of Epigituk Landholding Corporation administers Killiniq Category I and II lands from that community.


The landholding corporations are legal entities created as non-profit associations under section
5 of the Land Regime Act, and governed by said Act, the JBNQA and the Quebec Companies

The membership of the landholding corporations is composed of the beneficiaries affiliated to
their respective communities. They are therefore ethnic bodies that serve community interests.

The internal structure of the landholding corporations is governed by By-laws duly adopted by
the members of the corporations. Thus, they can establish a Board of Directors composed of 3
to 12 members (according to the need of the communities) elected for a two (2) years term.
Among such directors, an executive committee is instituted with functions relevant to the
presidency, vice-presidency, secretarial and treasury of the organization.

The Board of directors has general administration powers, which include the power to hire staff
members, adopt by-laws, signing contracts, commit financially, etc., while bearing in mind their
general mandate, which is the pursuit of benefits for their respective communities.

Their principal duties and powers originate from the Land Regime Act and from the Act
respecting Hunting, Fishing and Trapping in the James Bay and Northern Quebec territories and
Chapter 3 of the JBNQA regarding eligibility of JBNQA beneficiaries. In addition, various
environmental laws allow landholding corporations to make representation to environmental
review boards created by the JBNQA.

They can be involved in profitable activities by incorporating subsidiary companies, even in
partnership with outside organizations, other landholding corporations or individuals.

Local landholding corporations are also responsible for the maintenance and updating of their
respective enrollment beneficiary list, among which amounts are proportionally allocated from

Board of Directors
David Sequeluk
Paul Tooma
Tommy Unatweenuk (President)
Tommy Assevak (Vice-President)
Sammy Unatweenuk (Secretary)
Sammy Unatweenuk (Treasurer)
General Manager
NameSammy Angnatwenuk
Contact Information
Postal CodeJ0M 1N0
Subsidiary Companies

News and Events

Local Guidelines