Nunavik LHCs

Arqivik LHC of Tasiujaq

Arqivik LHC of TasiujaqTasiujaq, meaning "Which Resembles a Lake" in Inuktitut is an Inuit community in the territory of Northern Quebec.  The community is located on the shores of Leaf Bay 60 km from Ungava Bay at approximately 59°19'1" N, 69°34'46" W.  As of 2006, the population of Tasiujaq was 249.  Arqivik Landholding Corporation of Kangirsuk is the owner of 629.8 km2 of Category I lands and has specific rights, responsibilities and controls over 3,840.3 km2 of Category II lands.

Read more

Tasiujaq was built on the shores of Leaf Lake at the head of Deep Harbour on the Finger River. It lies a few kilometres north of the tree line. Here, the shrub tundra finally gives way to the arctic tundra. Tasiujaq, which means 'resembling a lake,' actually refers to the whole of Leaf Basin: Leaf Lake, Leaf Passage and Leaf Bay. Leaf Basin is renowned for its high tides, which regularly exceed 15 m.

In the 1950s, when the federal government opened a school in Kuujjuaq and started delivering social services, many Inuit congregated around the emerging village. The wildlife resources of Kuujjuaq however were scarce and many Inuit were forced to rely on government allowances. In 1963, the Northern Quebec directorate of the provincial government, hoping to in part remedy in part this problem, decided to create a new village on the south shore of Leaf Lake where wildlife resources were more plentiful.


The landholding corporations are legal entities created as non-profit associations under section
5 of the Land Regime Act, and governed by said Act, the JBNQA and the Quebec Companies

The membership of the landholding corporations is composed of the beneficiaries affiliated to
their respective communities. They are therefore ethnic bodies that serve community interests.

The internal structure of the landholding corporations is governed by By-laws duly adopted by
the members of the corporations. Thus, they can establish a Board of Directors composed of 3
to 12 members (according to the need of the communities) elected for a two (2) years term.
Among such directors, an executive committee is instituted with functions relevant to the
presidency, vice-presidency, secretarial and treasury of the organization.

The Board of directors has general administration powers, which include the power to hire staff
members, adopt by-laws, signing contracts, commit financially, etc., while bearing in mind their
general mandate, which is the pursuit of benefits for their respective communities.

Their principal duties and powers originate from the Land Regime Act and from the Act
respecting Hunting, Fishing and Trapping in the James Bay and Northern Quebec territories and
Chapter 3 of the JBNQA regarding eligibility of JBNQA beneficiaries. In addition, various
environmental laws allow landholding corporations to make representation to environmental
review boards created by the JBNQA.

They can be involved in profitable activities by incorporating subsidiary companies, even in
partnership with outside organizations, other landholding corporations or individuals.

Local landholding corporations are also responsible for the maintenance and updating of their
respective enrollment beneficiary list, among which amounts are proportionally allocated from
the Hunter Support Program created under the JBNQA.

Board of Directors
James May
Johnny Cain
Willie Cain Jr (President)
Billy Cain (Vice-President)
Lucina Cain May (Secretary)
Lucina Cain May (Treasurer)
General Manager
NameMarkusie Annahatak
Contact Information
Postal CodeJ0M 1T0
Subsidiary Companies
SubsidiaryIqaluppik Hotel
DescriptionHotel Accomodations 2 stars
AddressPO BOX 52, Bldg 60, Tasiujaq, QC, J0M 1T0
PhoneTel.: 819 633 5414, Fax: 819 633 5491
ContactKathy Kauki

News and Events

Local Guidelines